Bead blasting wheels and paint ??
Magnum TE Offline

Bead blasting wheels and paint ??
Is this the right forum for this?

I've got a set of OEM Honda alloys that I'm going to put on my Wife's car (got from a buddy for a bro deal). They had a rattle can black paint job on them that's all flaked off. My plan is to media blast them and prime paint+clear some color of her choosing onto them.

Anything I should concern myself with during the bead blasting process? I've never done alloy wheels before. The glass bead media is very fine, I forgot what it said on the bucket, but it's large dust particle, whole wheat flower kinda fine.

I'm just going to blast every inch of the rim unless I get told otherwise.

After media blasting I'm going to wash, air duster dry, degrease, prime and paint. I'm thinking about using some rustolium enamel primer and paint, seems easy to lay down and lots of color choice. I've got some old 2 part clear that I may gun a few coats on just to make it stronger.

Any better ideas on paint? I have no idea what color she wants to choose, I'm trying to not make the car embarasing to drive around in... what's more embarrassing than a Light Blue/Green '92 Tercel 2 door with flaking clear? That car with Safety Orange 15" honda alloys.

said rim:
[Image: 15%20Inch%20Split%205%20Spoke.jpg]

Before and after:
[Image: Photo328.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 02-15-2012 02:15 AM by Magnum TE.)
01-24-2012 12:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
volvogeek Offline
Wagon Whore

RE: Bead blasting wheels and paint ??
I refinished a set of Thors that had a LOT of curb rash, and all I did was take a sanding block to 'em to rough up the surface a bit. No primer, just top coat, though I DO think I put a bit of clear on them to make sure they'd last. It would have definitely been easier to blast them than sand them, but you use what you've got, right?

[ Richard Langis ] [ Yeti | Betty | MooMoo ]
[Image: 6818504367_35ecb7f0e7_o.jpg]